Rania

Her Majesty Queen Rania Al Abdullah

Rania Al Yassin was born on August 31, 1970. She obtained her Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from the American University of Cairo in 1991. She applied this, first, to a banking career in Jordan and, later, to the information technology sector.

After marrying Prince Abdullah bin Al Hussein on June 10, 1993, they went on to have four children: Prince Hussein, Princess Iman, Princess Salma, and Prince Hashem.

In addition to being a wife and mother, Queen Rania works hard to lift the lives of Jordanians by supporting their endeavours and helping to create new opportunities for them. 

Locally, she is committed to breathe new life into the public education system; empower communities and women especially through microfinance initiatives; protect children and families; and drive innovation, technology and entrepreneurship, especially amongst young people.

Internationally, Queen Rania is an advocate for tolerance, compassion and bridge building between people of all cultures and backgrounds. Her efforts to simultaneously challenge stereotypes of Arabs and Muslims, and promote greater understanding and acceptance between people of all faiths and cultures, have won her global recognition.

Her Majesty’s passion is education. She believes that every Jordanian girl and boy, and all children, should have access not only to stimulating classrooms and modern curricula, but inspiring teachers and technology that can connect Jordan’s children to the world and the world to Jordan’s children. Her efforts in the education sector complement the work of the Ministry of Education through initiatives such as the Jordan Education Initiative, the Queen Rania Teachers Academy, Madrasati, Edraak and others. To realize these and so much more, Queen Rania has encouraged private sector partners to drive improvements and strengthen the foundations of Jordan’s education system. (Queen Rania’s Initiatives)

Queen Rania is also a global voice for access to quality education for children around the world. In 2009, Her Majesty championed the 1 Goal campaign for education; she is Honorary Chair of the UN Girl’s Education Initiatives and has advocated access to education in forums and gatherings around the world.

Her work and her efforts to improve the learning opportunities for children have been recognized at the highest levels, nationally, regionally and internationally.

Additionally, through her position on their boards, Her Majesty contributes to the work of the United Nations Fund and the World Economic Forum. She is the Eminent Advocate for UNICEF; and she was part of the UN appointed High Level Panel who advised on the shape and content of the Sustainable Development Goals which aim to improve the lives of millions of people before 2030.

In recognition of her work, Her Majesty has humbly accepted many awards, locally, regionally and globally. These include the Walther Rathenau Award from the Walther Rathenau Institute in Germany for her efforts to greater peace and understanding; the James C. Morgan Global Humanitarian Award from Tech Awards, USA; the Arab Knight of Giving Award from Arab Giving Forum, UAE; the North South Prize by the North South Prize, Portugal; as well as the YouTube Visionary Award. (Full list of awards and honorary degrees)

Her Majesty authored several books primarily for children including the Sandwich Swap, which was inspired by her own childhood experiences. (View the full list of publications

رانيا

جلالة الملكة رانيا العبدالله

ولدت رانيا الياسين في 31 آب 1970. وبعد حصولها على درجة البكالوريوس في إدارة الأعمال من الجامعة الأمريكية في القاهرة عام 1991 بدأت حياتها العملية في قطاع البنوك في الأردن ثم عملت في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات.

بعد زواجها من الأمير عبدالله الثاني ابن الحسـين في 10 حزيـران عام 1993، رزقا بسمو الأمير حسين، والأميرة إيمان والأميرة سلمى والأمير هاشم.

وإلى جانب كونها زوجة وأم، تعمل الملكة رانيا بكل طاقاتها لتحسين مستوى حياة الأردنيين من خلال دعم مساعيهم والمساهمة في إيجاد فرص جديدة لهم. 

محلياً، لجلالتها جهود كبيرة في مجالات تطوير النظام التعليمي الحكومي، تمكين المجتمعات والنساء، وبالأخص من خلال مبادرات القروض الصغيرة، حماية الأطفال والأسر، وتشجيع الابتكار والتكنولوجيا والريادة وخاصة بين الشباب.

وعالمياً، تُعرف جلالتها باعتبارها من المناصرين لنشر التسامح والتعاطف، وبناء الجسور بين الناس من مختلف الثقافات والخلفيات. واكتسبت جهودها في مواجهة الصور النمطية اتجاه العرب والمسلمين احتراماً عالمياً، وتشجع جلالتها علىفهم وقبول أكبر بين الناس من مختلف الأديان والثقافات. 

التعليم هو شغف جلالتها. فهي تؤمن بأن كل أردني وأردنية وجميع الأطفال، يجب أن يحصلوا ليس فقط على صفوف مدرسية محفزة ومناهج حديثة، ولكن أيضاً معلمين ملهمين وتكنولوجيا يمكن أن تربط أطفال الأردن بالعالم، وتربط العالم بهم. وتدعم جلالتها عمل وزارة التربية والتعليم من خلال مبادرات مثل مبادرة التعليم الأردنية، وأكاديمية الملكة رانيا لتدريب المعلمين، ومدرستي، وإدراك وغيرها. ومن أجل أهداف تلك المبادرات وغيرها، شجعت الملكة رانيا شركاء من القطاع الخاص للدعم والمساهمة في تحسين وتعزيز أساسات المنظومة التعليمية في الأردن. (مبادرات الملكة رانيا)

كما أن جلالتها صوت عالمي لضمان حصول الأطفال حول العالم على التعليم النوعي. وفي عام 2009، شاركت جلالتها في إطلاق حملة هدف واحد التعليمية، وجلالتها رئيس فخري لمبادرات الأمم المتحدة لتعليم الفتيات ومن المدافعين في المنتديات والتجمعات في جميع أنحاء العالم عن حق الجميع في الحصول على التعليم النوعي.

كما تم تقدير جهود جلالتها في تحسين فرص التعليم لجميع الأطفال على أعلى المستويات وطنياً وإقليمياً وعالمياً.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تساهم جلالة الملكة في دعم عمل مؤسسة الأمم المتحدة والمنتدى الاقتصادي العالمي من خلال منصبها في مجلسيهما. وجلالتها مناصرة بارزة لليونيسف، وتم اختيارها عضواً في اللجنة الاستشارية رفيعة المستوى لرسم أجندة التنمية العالمية لما بعد عام 2015 والتي قدمت الاستشارة حول شكل ومضمون الأهداف الإنمائية المستدامة التي تهدف لتحسين حياة ملايين الناس قبل حلول عام 2030.

وتقديراً لعمل جلالة الملكة رانيا العبدالله، تسلمت جلالتها العديد من الجوائز محلياً وإقليمياً وعالمياً. ومن بينها: جائزة والتر راثيناو من مؤسسة والتر راثيناو في ألمانيا لجهودها من أجل السلام وتشجيع الحوار والتفاهم بين الحضارات، وجائزة جايمس سي. مورغان الإنسانية في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وجائزة فارس العطاء العربي من ملتقى العطاء العربي، الامارات العربية المتحدة، وجائزة الشمال/الجنوب في البرتغال وجائزة يوتيوب للإبداع.  (الجوائز والشهادات الفخرية)

كتبت الملكة رانيا عدداً من قصص الأطفال ومنها واحدة بعنوان "سلمى وليلي" المستوحاة من قصة حقيقية عاشتها جلالة الملكة في طفولتها. (يمكنك الاطلاع على جميع الكتب التي نشرتها الملكة رانيا هنا)